Baylor Business Buzz

Compiled by Caroline Korsawe

Baylor Grieves Loss of Dr. Carlos Moore
Carlos William Moore, The Edwin W. Streetman Professor of Marketing at Baylor University’s Hankamer School of Business, passed away on Sunday, May 27, at the age of 64, in Emmett, Texas. During the course of his teaching for 36 years at Baylor, Moore had been honored as a Distinguished Professor by the Hankamer School of Business. Moore also coauthored a textbook, and was engaged in researching and publishing major findings in the area of business ethics. Moore was dedicated to his family and was known for his quiet generosity and gentle sense of humor. “You couldn’t ask for a better colleague. He was very considerate. He always wanted to make sure everybody was taken care of and went out of his way to help people,” said Jerry Johnson, professor of Marketing. Look for a profile of Dr. Moore in the next issue of this magazine.

Graduate Business Program Climbs 4 Spots in U.S. News Rankings
Baylor University’s Hankamer School of Business improved its rank to No. 73 in the 2008 edition of U.S. News & World Report’s “America’s Best Graduate Schools.” U.S.News surveyed 406 master’s programs in business and ranked 113 of them, accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).

New Degree to Offer Students a BBA with Flexibility
This fall semester, Hankamer added the Baylor Business Fellows major within the Bachelor’s of Business Administration program. This new degree plan gives students the opportunity to prepare for careers not limited to one degree plan.

Security-Focused Information Track Added to MSIS Degree Plan
With the increased reliance on the Internet for conducting commerce, the Hankamer School of Business is offering new classes for its Master of Science in Information Systems (MSIS) program in information security.

Gilbreath Selected Piper Professor of 2007
Kent Gilbreath has been selected as Piper Professor of 2007 by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation, which awards 15 professors in Texas each year for superior teaching at the college level. Gilbreath is a professor of Economics.

Business Law Lecturer Wins 2007 Collins Award
Martha C. Agee, senior lecturer in business law, was selected as the 2006-2007 Collins Outstanding Professor award recipient. Agee, who joined Baylor in 1997, was named an outstanding faculty member in 2006 forteaching and received the Teaching Excellence Award in 2005 from the Hankamer School of Business. She was also honored as the most popular professor in the business school.

Baylor Student Investment Team Beats Out Texas Competitors
Three Baylor Business students, Trent Agnew, Aimee Clement and Joshua Lynn, earned the Portfolio Management Finals Competition top award at the Fourth Annual Texas Investment Portfolio Symposium (TIPS). The symposium enables students to gain real world experience and learn about industries’ trends and issues through interaction with investment professionals.

Sales Team Excels at National Contest
Hankamer’s student sales team ranked 3rd at the 9th Annual National Collegiate Sales Competition. The competition gives students the opportunity to use the salesmanship skills learned in the classroom. It also enables them to make contacts with representatives of various hiring companies.

MBA Takes Second Place in National Healthcare Essay Competition
Baylor MBA student, Matt Link, specializing in healthcare administration, earned 2nd place in the 19th annual American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) student essay competition for his essay titled “The Impact of Illegal Immigration: Standing on the Border of Public Health, Ethical, and Financial Decisions.”

Business Alumni Network Honored by Deans
The Baylor Business Network received the Bobby G. Bizzell Southwest Business Deans Association Innovation Award for its outstanding innovation and improvement in business education. The Business Network works to foster communication among Baylor alumni, enhance the value of your Baylor experience through networking and professional development, create potential business development opportunities, and serve and mentor recent Baylor graduates.

Outstanding Faculty and Staff Named
For the 2006-2007 school year, the following top faculty and staff were recognized by the dean: Cynthia J. Jackson and Laurie Wilson received the Outstanding Staff Award; Dr. Dorothy E. Leidner was honored as Distinguished Professor; Dr. Darryl L. Lehnus and Dr. John D. Martin received the Teaching Excellence Award; and Dr. Jeffery S. McMullen received the Young Researcher Award.

New Rankings, New Heights
Baylor’s Hankamer School of Business climbed two spots in this year’s U.S. News & World Report undergraduate business program rankings to 58th place, while Baylor’s entrepreneurship program maintained its prestigious 14th place among the nation’s best entrepreneurship programs.

In Fortune Small Business’s first-ever ranking of “America’s Best Colleges for Entrepreneurs.” Baylor was selected as one of the 25 best schools for entrepreneurship in the nation. In the Family Business category, Baylor was selected as one of the six best schools.

Business School Receives Honors from CASE and TPRA for Communications and Marketing Work
Baylor University’s Hankamer School of Business fared well in the 2007 Council for the Advancement and Support of Education’s District IV awards competiton. The School’s Communications and Marketing Department picked up five awards in the regional event. Baylor Business Review, the alumni magazine of Baylor University’s Hankamer School of Business, earned a Best of Texas bronze (second place) from the Texas Public Relations Association (TPRA).

pdf icon



Baylor Business Review, Fall 2007

Leave a Comment